

Digital euro scheme Rulebook Development Group (RDG)

7 May 2024

MINUTES

14TH MEETING OF DIGITAL EURO SCHEME RULEBOOK DEVELOPMENT GROUP

7th May from 09:00 to 15:00 CET (finished earlier)

In Person – Meeting Room MB GH C2.05

Sonnemannstr. 20, 60314 Frankfurt, Germany

Welcome note by the Chair and review of agenda

The Chair of the Rulebook Development Group commenced the 14th meeting by introducing the participants. Subsequently, the agenda for the meeting was presented and confirmed by the attendees.

Review of Minutes from previous meeting

The participants were invited to provide any comments they may have on the minutes drafted for the 13th RDG meeting. There were no comments from RDG members, and the minutes were subsequently endorsed.

Update on RDG review process

The digital euro team provided an update on the comments received from the RDG during the review process. There were no additional comments from the RDG members, and the digital euro team proceeded to the workstream updates.

Workstream A1 Sprint #3 interim report

The digital euro team presented an interim report of the third sprint of workstream A1. There were some comments from RDG members, which the ECB took note of. Further work on A1 (e.g., on accessibility)

is delegated to Workstream A2. RDG members were kindly invited to provide their feedback in written form on the interim report of Workstream A1 before 7 June.

Workstream C1 Sprint #4 interim report

The digital euro team presented an interim report of the fourth sprint of workstream C1. There were some comments from RDG members, which the ECB took note of. RDG members were kindly invited to provide their feedback in written form on the interim report of Workstream C1 before 7 June.

Update on standards analysis

The digital euro team presented a technical analysis on front-end standards and proposed next steps. The ECB further highlighted that it aimed to make a decision on standards by Q3 2024.

Closing remarks from the chair

The Chair thanked members for their participation and summarised the key next steps for the Rulebook Development Group. The next RDG meeting will take place on Tuesday 11 June.

ANNEX 1. Participants to 14th MEETING OF THE DIGITAL EURO SCHEME RULEBOOK DEVELOPMENT GROUP (RDG) on 7 May 2024

Representatives from the European retail payments market

Consumers – AGE: Anne Sophie Parent (*remote*) Consumers – BEUC: Anna Martin (*remote*) Corporate Treasurers – VDT: Regina Deisemann (*remote*) Merchants – Eurocommerce: Axel Schäfer Merchants – Ecommerce Europe: Juliette Beaulaton (*remote*) Credit Institutions – ESBG: Pedro Martinez Credit Institutions – EBF: Rita Camporeale Credit Institutions – EACB: Vincent Maissin (*excused*) Payment Institutions – EPIF: Hartwig Gerhartinger (*remote*) Payment Institutions – ETPPA: Ralf Ohlhausen European Payments Council: Manfred Richels SMEs – SME United: Gerhard Huemer (*excused*) Electronic Money Institutions: Thaer Sabri (*remote*) Acquirers – EDPIA: Piero Crivellaro

Representatives from the European Commission as Observer European Commission: Laszlo Butt (*remote*)

Representatives from the European Parliament Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs

ECON Secretariat: Cristina Ozon Pereira (*excused*) ECON Secretariat: Daniel Nagel (*remote*)

Representatives from the Eurosystem

Banco de Espana (Spain): Justo Arenillas (*remote*) Suomen Pankki (Finland): Maria Huhtaniska-Montiel Banque de France (France): Pierre-Alexandre Aranega Banca d'Italia (Italy): Riccardo Cerruti Banco de Portugal (Portugal): Rui Pimentel Deutsche Bundesbank (Germany): Johannes Seibel Eesti Pank (Estonia): Anu Keller (*remote*) Oesterreichische Nationalbank (Austria): Eva Kiss Dutch National Bank (Netherlands): Huib Klarenbeek

European Central Bank:

Evelien Witlox (digital euro programme manager & chair of RDG) Mayte Arraez Daniel McLean Paul Le Manh Thomas Janik Sebastian Siepen Massimo Cappuccio