EUROPEAN CENTRAL BANK

DECISION OF THE EUROPEAN CENTRAL BANK

of 16 November 1999

appointing the members of the Anti-Fraud Committee of the European Central Bank (ECB/1999/8)

(1999/752/EC)

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN CENTRAL BANK,

Having regard to the Statute of the European System of Central Banks and of the European Central Bank,

Having regard to the Decision ECB/1999/5 (¹) of the European Central Bank of 7 October 1999 on fraud prevention and in particular to Article 1, paragraph 3, thereof,

- (1) Whereas Article 1, paragraph 3, of Decision ECB/1999/5 provides for the Anti-Fraud Committee of the European Central Bank to be composed of three outside independent persons who possess outstanding qualifications relevant to the activities of the Anti-Fraud Committee;
- (2) Whereas it is appropriate to appoint the members of the Anti-Fraud Committee as soon as possible;
- Whereas Article 1, paragraph 3, of Decision ECB/1999/5 provides for the members of the Anti-Fraud Committee to be appointed by a decision of the Governing Council;
- (4) Whereas Article 1, paragraph 4, of Decision ECB/1999/5 stipulates that the term of office of the members of the Anti-Fraud Committee shall be three years,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

The following persons are hereby appointed as members of the Anti-Fraud Committee of the European Central Bank as from 1 January 2000:

- John L. Murray
- Erik Ernst Nordholt
- Maria Schaumayer.

Article 2

This Decision shall be published in the Official Journal of the European Communities.

Done at Frankfurt am Main, 16 November 1999.

The President of the ECB Willem F. DUISENBERG