

Danièle NOUY

Chair of the Supervisory Board

COURTESY TRANSLATION

Ms Paloma López Bermejo Member of the European Parliament European Parliament 60, rue Wiertz B-1047 Brussels

Frankfurt am Main, 7 March 2017

## Re: Your letter (QZ012)

Honourable Member of the European Parliament, dear Ms Paloma López Bermejo,

Thank you for your letter, which was passed on to me by Mr Roberto Gualtieri, Chairman of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs, accompanied by a cover letter dated 14 February 2017.

I note that your questions regarding the *Comité Técnico de Coordinación* refer to a period of time before the establishment of the Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM). It is not within the ECB's mandate to assess the legality of interpretations issued by national competent authorities prior to the establishment of the SSM. Furthermore, the ECB does not have the information necessary to make such an assessment. Since assuming its new banking supervision tasks on 4 November 2014, the ECB has been determined to ensure a level playing field in the area of European banking supervision in full consistency with the prevailing legal framework. This is facilitated by, inter alia, establishing documented internal standards, made available to all supervisors, regarding the application of regulatory, methodological and operational aspects of the SSM.

In addition, the ECB makes regular use of the European Banking Authority's (EBA's) Single Rulebook Q&A tool through which the EBA, interacting closely with the European Commission, provides guidance. This is particularly the case when questions relate to European legislative texts, as the Commission is competent to provide legal interpretation of such texts. Although these Q&A have no binding force in law, they are very helpful in ensuring harmonisation of supervisory practices and their practical application is scrutinised by the EBA and the ECB.

Finally, I can inform you that Mr Francisco Javier Aríztegui Yáñez has asked to be replaced in his position on the Administrative Board of Review of the ECB until the conclusion of the investigation to which he is subject. Accordingly, the Chair of the Administrative Board of Review, Mr Jean-Paul Redouin, has asked the two alternates – Mr René Smits and Mr Ivan Šramko – to act as member in relation to matters concerning any notices of review which may be filed during that period.

European Central Bank 60640 Frankfurt am Main Tel.: +49 69 1344 0 E-mail: <u>info@ecb.europa.eu</u> Website: <u>www.bankingsupervision.europa.eu</u> Yours sincerely,

[signed]

Danièle Nouy